La Sapienza - Università di Roma

logo de La Sapienza per la stampa

Homage to Maestro Giya Kancheli

December 5, 2017 - 8:30 pm
Aula Magna, Rectorate Building
Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, Rome
On Tuesday, December 5, Sapienza will host a concert dedicated to contemporary composer Giya Kancheli.
The concert will feature the Italian premiere performance of hte complete cycle of 12 Miniatures for Voice and Piano, interpreted by Alessandro Stella (piano) and Georgian mezzosoprano Nino Surguladze.

Giya Alexandrovich Kancheli

Giya Alexandrovich Kancheli, who was born on August 10, 1935 in Tbilisi, is a Georgian composer who resides in Belgium.

Since the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991, Kancheli has lived in Western Europe: first in Berlin and since 1995 in Antwerp, where he became composer-in-residence for the Royal Flemish Philharmonic.

Kancheli has written seven symphonies and a liturgy for viola and orchestra, “Mourned by the Wind.” Championed internationally by Dennis Russell Davies, Jansug Kakhidze, Gidon Kremer, Yuri Bashmet, Kim Kashkashian, Mstislav Rostropovich, and the Kronos Quartet, Kancheli has performed world premieres of his works in Seattle and with the New York Philharmonic under Kurt Masur.